If you plan on hitting the water this summer then you may need your Washington State Boating license.
Who Needs a Boating License in Washington State?
Washington State requires boating licenses for those operating a vessel with a motor of 15-horsepower or greater unless you were born before 1955, hold a commercial license, have a Coast Guard Marine Operator License or are renting a boat and have completed a safety checklist.
You also have a 60 day window to get your Washington State Boaters License if you are visiting from another state or country where you hold a boaters education card and have recently purchased your boat.
You may need to prove each of these things as well by providing proof of purchase.
How Do I Get a Boating License in Washington State?
To get a boating license in Washington State you must be older than 12-years-old, and pass a state approved safety course and exam either online or in person in classroom settings or even hands on training course.
Once you have passed your approved course you should receive a certification of completion which you would then send along with a completed Boater Education Card Application and $10 to the Washington Parks and Recreation Commission.
If everything checks out then your Washington State Boaters License should be mailed out to you within two to four weeks.
Once you have your License you are required to carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
If you are found to be operating a vessel without a valid License you could be subject to tickets and fines.
More Information For Washington Boaters
If you're new to boating, looking up things like boater safety tips for more information on how you can stay safe and prevent accidents.
Staying safe while boating is important to make sure everyone can continue to enjoy our waters safely.
If you or a loved one are injured in a boating accident you have rights just like victims from any other accident and the boating accident attorneys at Davis Law Group are here to help.
Davis Law Group offers free case evaluations to accident victims and their families and you can request yours online or over the phone by calling 206-727-4000 or using the chat or contact options on the page today.