Updated on: 2/25/2019
A law in Connecticut went into effect Jan. 1, 2012 stating that anyone who is convicted of drunk driving will now have to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This law will affect even first-time offenders. An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that is connected to the vehicle, and in order for the motor to start, a sober driver must blow into it.
This was law was strongly supported by Mothers Against Drunk Driving.
The previous law mandates a 1-year license suspension for those convicted of DUI while the new law reduces that suspension to 45-day suspension. It is a driver’s second DUI conviction, they will serve the 45-day suspension but are required to have the ignition device in their car for three years.
"What we do know is the states that have done this have experienced a significant drop in their DUI fatalities," Secretary of criminal justice policy Mike Lawlor said.
The ignition interlock devices cost $100 a month and the offender is responsible for paying the cost.
Should Washington State adopt this law?Tell us what you think by commenting on this post.
Davis Law Group supports the mission of MADD. For every drunk driving case we successfully close, we donate $500 to MADD Washington. Let's eliminate drunk drivers on our roads.